Magic Jack Reviews

Order MagicJack
Editorial Rating:              

Magic Jack reviews are popping up all over the web and for good reason.  Making phone calls has never been simpler or cheaper. The Magic Jack really does seem like “magic”, and anybody with a broadband connection can be talking in less than 20 minutes. It seems as though every day, another VoIP provider is touting its service, but Magic Jack stands out above the crowd—and it’s not just because of its television commercials. It’s easy to install, it’s cheap, it has all the basic features, and call quality is good. What more could you ask for?

Magic Jack is meant for home or small business usage, and it serves that demographic very well. If you’re a larger business that needs several extensions or sophisticated features, you’ll probably want to avail yourself of a hosted or on-premises PBX instead. But for the home, or for a small company with just a few employees, it’s perfect.  In this Magic Jack review we are going to go over the installation process, features, call quality, and finally their guarantee.

Magic Jack’s Quick and Easy Install

My install took less than 20 minutes, and that’s only because I stopped to get coffee in the middle. The process is mostly automated—you just plug your phone into the Magic Jack, and plug the Magic Jack into your USB port. The software automatically installs, you go through a quick registration process, and enter in your 911 information, and you’re ready to go. Post-installation, you can set up your contact list manually by entering in names and phone numbers one at a time, or you can download your Outlook list all at once.

Magic Jack Works With Your Existing Phone

You’ve probably heard that office VoIP installations may require you to purchase all new phones—this isn’t the case with Magic Jack. There’s no need to buy a special IP phone, you can use any standard telephone. Just plug it in and start talking! If you don’t have an extra phone, or just want to use your Magic Jack while you’re traveling, you can also take advantage of the softphone which is right on the main interface. Just put on your headset, click on a name from your contact list or press numbers on the keypad, and you can start talking.

Magic Jack’s First-rate Call Quality

VoIP calls still have an undeserved reputation of substandard calling quality, but this hasn’t been the case for a long time. Like any technology, VoIP has evolved, and today most services offer excellent call quality that is indistinguishable from regular phone service—and Magic Jack is no exception. Call quality is excellent, and so long as you have a good broadband connection, you can’t tell the difference between a Magic Jack call and a POTS (“Plain Old Telephone Service”) call. You won’t get any echoes, buzzing, or that annoying “sounds like you’re talking into a tube” effect—just crystal clear voice on both ends of the call.

Is it Really Free to Call?

Yes, and this is one of the wonderful things about the Magic Jack. You can call anywhere in the United States, absolutely free, for as long as you want. And if you’re on the road, use your Magic Jack from your netbook, connect to a local WiFi spot, and you can still make and receive calls using your same phone number. Traveling overseas? You’re still good to go, and you can make and receive calls on your regular phone number while sitting on the beach in Thailand—and nobody needs to know where you’re really at. Magic Jack does have competitive international rates as well; you can call the UK for two cents a minute, India for five cents, or Thailand for ten cents.

Magic Jack’s Strong Feature Set

Small businesses or home offices may wish to use Magic Jack to add an extra fax line, and you can easily plug it into your fax machine to receive faxes. Internet fax services would be a nice addition, but Magic Jack doesn’t include that, at least not yet. It does however, come with all of the basic features you would expect with phone service, including free voicemail, caller ID, call forwarding and call waiting. You’ll also gain the advantage of choosing an area code from anywhere in the country for your phone number, and free, unlimited conference calling.

The latter two features are especially useful for small businesses that may be doing business around the country. Conference calling has become a small business essential, but you’ll usually pay a per-minute charge to have a conference room to which multiple parties can dial in. Not so with Magic Jack! You can have unlimited conference calling—just give each party the call-in number and your three-digit conference room number, and you’re in.

Magic Jack’s 30-Day Free Trial Guarantee

Currently Magic Jack is offering their device with a 30-day free trial period if you purchase directly from their website. If you purchase the Magic Jack and are not satisfied you can return for a full refund within the 30 day grace period. Here’s a snippet of the guarantee taken directly from Magic Jack’s website,

‘The magic Jack Money Back Guarantee policy ensures your complete satisfaction. If for any reason you wish to cancel service within 30 days of your purchase from magicjack.com (which is the date you order the magic Jack), we will refund your money if the terms of our Money Back Guarantee are satisfied.’

Conclusion

Magic Jack gets a “five stars out of five” from this reviewer, and I’m now enjoying having a second line in my home office. Highly recommended for most home and small business uses.

43 Customer Reviews of “Magic Jack”

Review by WanderingWarrior, March 26, 2010

Sound Quality55555
Reliability44444
Customer Service55555
Features44444
Price44444
Overall55555

“My personal experience with the MagicJack has been positive overall with a few hiccups in the early stages. It turns out I had an older copy of an antivirus program that was interfering with the installation. A quick chat with their online tech support was able to identify and solve the problem. I dumped the older version of my antivirus software and got a new version of McAfee and all is well. Voice quality and reliability has been wonderful.”

Review by Jack Stein, April 10, 2010

Sound Quality55555
Reliability55555
Customer Service55555
Features55555
Price55555
Overall55555

“I love to use MagicJack when I travel due to it's small size. Call quality has been excellent and it has saved me from astronomical cell phone fees when overseas.”

Review by MagicJacker, April 14, 2010

Sound Quality44444
Reliability55555
Customer Service55555
Features44444
Price44444
Overall55555

“Magic Jack is great but remember that your computer needs to be on at all times for you to make and receive calls. Not a bad tradeoff when you consider how much you save on long distance. If my computer was ever off I simply received my messages via their voicemail or when I am not home I can setup call forwarding to my cell phone. I mean $40 for the first year and only $20 for each year thereafter! That is amazing!”

Review by John Martz, May 3, 2010

Sound Quality55555
Reliability44444
Customer Service44444
Features44444
Price55555
Overall44444

“My daughter just left for college and we gave the magicjack to her as a going away gift for her as well as us ;). She uses it on her laptop in her dorm room on a daily basis and we have saved a considerable sum. Of course we still get the occasional call from her cell phone but a majority of calls are via the magicjack and they are close to landline quality and much clearer than her cell phone. We love it!”

Review by Angie, May 20, 2010

Sound Quality55555
Reliability55555
Customer Service44444
Features33333
Price55555
Overall55555

“Installation was a breeze and I were able to choose a number in our area using the registration process. So far I can hear calls clearly and I have tested it not only locally but 3000 miles away and I never had a complaint from anyone on the other line. As far as faxing I was able to get it to work but I do have a fairly fast DSL connection.”

Review by JerseyGirl, June 13, 2010

Sound Quality55555
Reliability44444
Customer Service55555
Features44444
Price55555
Overall44444

“As a techie at heart I was an early adopter of the MagicJack and years later it's still keeping me smiling. This was even after several moves to different areas and more importantly different Internet Service Providers with varying degrees of speed. A cool feature that I use constantly is their automatic voicemail to email feature. Every voicemail you receive creates and sends you an email with accompanying voicemail attached. Now that's convenient! I just started working with some website developers in the Phillipines and since each number assigned to a MagicJack is US based it makes for a great tool for outsourced workers abroad.”

Review by Debbie Mai, June 27, 2010

Sound Quality55555
Reliability55555
Customer Service33333
Features55555
Price55555
Overall44444

“I bought my Magicjack from its website at magicjack.com and received it in little under 7 days. It took me less than 10 minutes to install Magicjack (plug it into your PC's USB), register it, pick a phone number in my area and start using it. For me, deciding which number to use took the longest time (tried to find a vanity number) hehe. I live basically in Denver, CO so there were a lot of local numbers available to me. The magicjack site lists its available area codes and phone prefixes. Not all areas are available yet so make sure you can select a local phone number for your needs before buying Magicjack. It’s important to note that if you use a non-local phone number for your Magicjack, people that call you may incur toll charges or long distance charges.”

Review by Jennster, July 17, 2010

Sound Quality55555
Reliability44444
Customer Service44444
Features44444
Price55555
Overall55555

“Call quality is so close to my landline I can't tell the difference. Goodbye monstrous phone bills!”

Review by Laura, July 31, 2010

Sound Quality55555
Reliability55555
Customer Service55555
Features55555
Price55555
Overall55555

“For all of those terrible reviews out there about Magic Jack, I just want to say it Really Does Work!! I have had Magic Jack for the last year and a half and its been my only working phone. My mother purchased the Magic Jack online in Dec. 2008 and gave it to me as a present when I moved into my apartment. I was unable to afford the traditional phone service through my local telephone company and this seemed like an affordable option. The MagicJack was easy to install; Basically just plug and play. The cost for me is truly only $39.95 for the Magic Jack for the first year and only $19.95 for the second year. I did have to purchase cable internet through my local cable company. To get the Lite version of cable it only costs me $24.95 per month, which is cheaper than getting phone service. I have had only a couple of problems during this time with MagicJack, all which were fixable by running the MagicFix or talking to a live agent via chat. So if you are considering getting MagicJack, please don't let the bad reviews change your mind. It is truly worth every penny!!”

Review by Celene Meza, August 11, 2010

Sound QualityNot Rated
ReliabilityNot Rated
Customer ServiceNot Rated
FeaturesNot Rated
PriceNot Rated
OverallNot Rated

“I LOVE MAGIC JACK CAUSE I COULD CALL ANYWERE I WAN'T. I DESCONECTED MY LAND LINE CAUSE VERIZON KEPT SCREWING MY BILL A LOT, BUT WITH MAGIC JACK DON'T HAVE ANY MORE PHONE BILLS I KNOW THAT FOR A FACT CAUSE I HAD MAGIC JACK FOR TWO MONTHS AND ITS GREAT. I LIKE IT A LOT TO BECAUSE YOU COULD TAKE IT EVERYWERE WITH YOU WERE THERES INTERNET CONNECTED AND YOU PHONE WORKS PERFECT.”

Review by gleapman, August 11, 2010

Sound Quality22222
Reliability22222
Customer Service33333
Features55555
Price55555
Overall22222

“Sound quality using Comcast in Denver has been too unreliable to use regularly, especially for business calls. On too many calls I need to have the caller call back on my land line because I keep cutting out. Doesn't seem to matter whether or not I use the Hawkings Broadband Booster suggested on some forums. Have had the MagicJack for 11 months. Spent a lot of time tuning it during the first few months working from info on various forums and chatting with MJ support. Thought I had it working fine, so I signed up for another five years. A few months later the quality tanked and it's been hit or miss ever since. I will do more tuning, including changing to a non-Denver server and hope for the best. On the plus side, the conference call feature is great. Fortunately, that alone has been worth the $20/year.”

Review by james, August 12, 2010

Sound QualityNot Rated
ReliabilityNot Rated
Customer ServiceNot Rated
FeaturesNot Rated
PriceNot Rated
OverallNot Rated

“not so good magic jack forgot to say that even if you have internet service that they say will work they also have to be at a speed that clear (old clearwire) will not work with it i could not receive calls after 5 min of activation time.”

Review by GOP2010, August 21, 2010

Sound Quality55555
Reliability44444
Customer Service33333
Features44444
Price55555
Overall55555

“I'd suggest that anyone thinking about purchasing Magic Jack test their internet connection speed. Dial up probably will not cut it. SpeedTest.net is a good source. I'm getting a download of around 30 Mbits and upload of 15 Mbits on Cox.net in VA. My only problem was with receive volume on calls. I had an older Uniden cordless. I swapped it out with a Panasonic cordless which solved the problem. You can't get a live person for tech support, but the online support is good for resolving install issues. I'd also suggest watching the softphone menu when you use a cordless. Sometimes the numbers dialed get jumbled. The softphone menu makes it easy to watch what's happening. Great product for $60 and 2 years of unlimited phone service.”

Review by scott, August 24, 2010

Sound QualityNot Rated
ReliabilityNot Rated
Customer ServiceNot Rated
FeaturesNot Rated
PriceNot Rated
OverallNot Rated

“Worlds biggest skeptic here. I have Magic Jack. It is legit. It is idiot proof to install, and YES, your computer needs to be on to utilize it. OR all calls will go to free voicemail. You get to pick your phone number and MORE IMPORTANTLY and the REASON that I purchased a home line==from Walgreens....I cut my cell phone minutes down to 500 a month from 1500, (22 bucks a month)savings...and my voicemail on MAGIC jack line says-- If this call goes right to voicemail please call me on my cellphone"-- when the computer is off.) Bottom LINE. If you are paying more than 20 bucks a month for a house phone (even if it wrapped into a cable package---) You can pay 20 bucks a year for ALL THE YAPPIN you want to do! TEN STARS. I would actually bet that the phone companies are working to keep this and ooma a secret.”

Review by Doug, August 30, 2010

Sound Quality22222
Reliability22222
Customer Service11111
Features55555
Price55555
Overall11111

“MagicJack works just fine for outgoing calls but is totally unsatisfactory for incoming calls. I cannot get an 808 area code so anybody calling me has to pay for a long distance call. Customer service is a misnomer. Numerous contacts with the on-line chat regarding number porting have produced nothing but lies and bad information. The last time the number porting FAQ was updated was in April. They reported the first week of August. August is now gone and still no number porting. I am constantly subjected to tones interrupting my conversations. Nobody has been able to resolve that problem Bottom line, MagicJack is a product that defines the old adage, "You get what you pay for!" It works but there are a lot of warts.”

Review by Larry N, August 30, 2010

Sound QualityNot Rated
ReliabilityNot Rated
Customer ServiceNot Rated
FeaturesNot Rated
PriceNot Rated
OverallNot Rated

“I love my Magic Jack, except for the latest update. The sleep mode in the latest update has been disabled. My computer has to remain on at full power for the Magic Jack to work. PLEASE ENABLE THE SLEEP MODE FUNCTION AGAIN!”

Review by Xir Tsu, September 1, 2010

Sound Quality22222
Reliability22222
Customer Service33333
Features22222
Price55555
Overall22222

“The service is not reliable. Within the US may be acceptable, but for traveling outside the white noise may be too much. Most of the time the calls can be placed, but many times the communication is not possible due to the low quality of sound. Customer service is polite, but not too helpful since the chat service they use in unreliable and many times drops calls, which puts you back on square one. As I read around, you get really what you pay for, but at a severe discount, once you are the one asking for service.”

Review by Marge, September 7, 2010

Sound QualityNot Rated
ReliabilityNot Rated
Customer ServiceNot Rated
FeaturesNot Rated
PriceNot Rated
OverallNot Rated

“My magic jack works fine most of the time. Every once in a while the "telephone" switches to "head set" and I can't get the call on the phone. I would like to permanently set the softphone on TELEPHONE and deleete the head set since I do not use it.”

Review by GA Smith, September 29, 2010

Sound Quality11111
Reliability11111
Customer Service22222
Features55555
Price55555
Overall33333

“I have a couple of friends for whom MJ works great. However, I tested MJ since Feb 2010. Echos & chops words for in & out calls. Tested MJ in 12 different USB ports on 3 different desktop computers. Tested with Win XP Home & Pro, Vista Home, & Win 7 Home. I've tested it with 3 different phone systems without improving the voice quality. I thought maybe I got a bad unit - bought another MJ and it is worse than the first. Was on chat for over 4 hours could not fix the problems. Every time chat is used, I had to go over the same thing I had just done two hours ago. If you do try MJ, keep your current phone system. If MJ does not work correctly within 20 days or so, try to get your money back as after 30 days you're stuck with it.”

Review by Ernie, October 13, 2010

Sound QualityNot Rated
ReliabilityNot Rated
Customer ServiceNot Rated
FeaturesNot Rated
PriceNot Rated
OverallNot Rated

“I've had Magic Jack for almost 1 year for international travel and some travel back to the US. Trust me, it has worked exceptionally-well. I estimate that I've probably already saved around $500 + in long distance phone calls while traveling! You can't beat that. Excellent for travel. I also use it for all home phone calls which is easily another $1000 + on international calls back home (US). The best deal for me since "The Georgia Peach Cobbler".”

Review by Mark, October 22, 2010

Sound Quality33333
Reliability33333
Customer Service11111
Features55555
Price55555
Overall33333

“I like the MJ but I can not call any (970)in Co that are on Centurytel. Making this call was the reason I bought it!”

Review by Sarah, October 29, 2010

Sound Quality33333
Reliability11111
Customer Service11111
Features44444
Price55555
Overall33333

“I LOVED my Magic Jack. It worked perfectly for about 3 months. After this time, the company did an update and it didn't work after that...AT ALL. I talked to 4 different service reps and none could tell me how to fix it. I'm a mother of 3, I don't have time to sit at the computer for 5 hours a day trying to fix my phone. I don't recommend this due to lack of knowledge on the service end”

Review by Nazim, November 15, 2010

Sound Quality44444
Reliability44444
Customer Service11111
Features55555
Price55555
Overall33333

“I am very very dissapointed with Magic Jack technical staff. It has been exactly 10 days today that I have been trying to update my MJ subscription and I am unable to do so. I have spoken to a total of 16 different agents via the live chat and to date NO ONE is able to help me. This is my problem whenever I try to update my subscription: error "log_id (25009220): ORA-20099: Auth Failed: MJ Internal Decline on PO Box" After trying other cards as I was instructed by MJ agents to do, I get this error log_id (25010552): ORA-20099: Too Many Recent Credit Card Changes And again no agent seems to be able to help me. Can someone please answer my call. For record my MJ worked perfect until it expired on the 5th of November, 2010”

Review by GSB, November 19, 2010

Sound Quality55555
Reliability55555
Customer Service11111
Features44444
Price55555
Overall44444

“I was skeptical about Magic Jack, but I've been using it for the last few days to make a lot of local and long distance calls and it works very, very well. The set-up is easy, and the USB device can be unplugged (eg, if I am taking my laptop elsewhere) and then plugged back in and immediately used to make calls. You can make calls on the computer or with a phone. The only problem I have had was that I was initially using a cordless phone and every time I turned on the cordless phone to make a call, it disrupted my computer's internet connection. Before I realized that it was due to the cordless phone, I chatted with the online customer service rep (two of them, actually) and aside from having me "upgrade" the program three times, they had no idea how to help (and wanted me to let them log into my computer remotely to try to fix it-- NO way!) My husband figured out that it was the cordless phone signal that was disrupting our wireless internet. Since switching to a regular corded phone, it works great. We have the highest speed of AT&T DSL and the sound quality is great- no disruptions, static, delay. I'm very happy with the quality and value of this device/service.”

Review by Scott, November 22, 2010

Sound Quality44444
Reliability11111
Customer Service11111
Features33333
Price55555
Overall11111

“For the first three months this was great; the price was right and it worked well. The problem is the service technical help cannot or will not help you. I dont have hours to spend chatting with them online each day to try and resolve the issues and in order to use my phone, at all! I must unplug and plug MJ in over and over as after 2-5 calls the voices become digitized on my end. I can also beboot my PC, modem etc. multiple times each day, but it is very frustrating and a waste of time. The technical support is not adequate, you obviously deal with a call center, they dont know how to help you and run you through a series of steps each time you call. An example of customer support was being told not to use the internet while making calls, what? That really was unbelievable, and not consistent with promised product. I have good hardware and pay for upgraded internet speed through Cox. I really wish it worked better, the idea is great but the performance does not match.”

Review by Nazim, November 23, 2010

Sound Quality44444
Reliability44444
Customer Service11111
Features33333
Price55555
Overall33333

“Today is November 23rd and guess what? MJ 26 Agents I spoke is yet to solve the problem I am experiencing in updating/renewing my subscription”

Review by marcus, November 29, 2010

Sound Quality55555
Reliability55555
Customer Service11111
Features55555
Price55555
Overall22222

“works great but when your service is due to expire you can not renew it . All i get is a email telling me my order was canceled and customer service is no help at all . Now I have a useless jack .One year 50.00 . You better buy 5 years to get a real good deal . ”

Review by marcus, December 3, 2010

Sound Quality55555
Reliability55555
Customer Service33333
Features55555
Price55555
Overall55555

“Update on my renewal problem . Seems when you get around the customer service guys you get to renew. i filed a complaint with Better Business Bureau and the next day it is resolved . My jack is working perfectly as it did before . Not sure why others have problems with calls . Mine are always crystal clear .”

Review by richard, December 5, 2010

Sound Quality55555
Reliability11111
Customer Service11111
Features22222
Price22222
Overall11111

“Had spoke to a "customer service rep". they tryed to fix the problem with the magic jack but it was GREEK to them. ”

Review by Nazim, December 7, 2010

Sound Quality55555
Reliability44444
Customer Service11111
Features44444
Price55555
Overall55555

“Thank you Magicjack, today makes it exactly one month since I contacted your agents about not being able to renew my MJ. To date I have not received the e-mail from the techs as promised by all the agents I spoke to, so as expected my MJ is still not working thanks to the many promises made by all 29 agents I spoke to. Way to go Magic jack so much for me trying to renew my service for 5yrs. I have filed a complaint with BBB so let's see what happens. I see that Marcus complaint to them did not fall on deaf ears like mine did for the last month with MJ.”

Review by carlos, December 14, 2010

Sound QualityNot Rated
ReliabilityNot Rated
Customer ServiceNot Rated
FeaturesNot Rated
PriceNot Rated
OverallNot Rated

“hi I just renew magicjack contract for five year,it was unable for three months,but it was allways plug in the pc,I do not no if Idi something,I did it on line,the phono has tone but no services.please could tell how to get customer service to cancel this order,tanks.”

Review by Chad Richardson, December 15, 2010

Sound Quality44444
Reliability44444
Customer Service33333
Features55555
Price55555
Overall55555

“Well, overall, I'm super happy with the magic jack device. The customer support is a little lacking.. the sound quality goes out occasionally.. But hey, it's only $19.95 a year! How in the heck can you beat that!? It works for what I need it for.. Enough said!”

Review by Sarah Jankowski, December 15, 2010

Sound Quality55555
Reliability55555
Customer Service55555
Features55555
Price55555
Overall55555

“I absolutely LOVE Magic Jack. I disconnected my landline phone with my local phone company over a year ago and have been using Magic Jack since. I get clear calls, no service issues and it has saved me about $600.00 this year. I have told all my friends and family about it. Everyone should get Magic Jack. Normally I am skeptical over products that are this cheap. They proved me wrong. It is definately worth it. I am a very satisfied customer!!”

Review by PRESTON, December 23, 2010

Sound Quality55555
Reliability55555
Customer Service55555
Features55555
Price55555
Overall55555

“I love you mj.”

Review by Tammy, January 12, 2011

Sound Quality44444
Reliability44444
Customer Service55555
Features55555
Price55555
Overall55555

“A few hiccups at first as it kept diconnecting the internet connection. I had to reinstall windows sp2 and all was fine. I found this a great alternative to installing a second phone line for my teens. Another great tool in parenting! When they are not allowed calls etc. I can disconnet it. My daughter loves the contacts list and I can keep track of her calls online.”

Review by Katie, February 24, 2011

Sound Quality44444
Reliability22222
Customer Service11111
Features22222
Price44444
Overall22222

“I have had my magic jack for almost 2 yrs now its good and all but it drops calls all the time sometimes i only can talk to my mom for 30 seconds before the phone hangs up i dunno if i should keep it another year or not but other than it droppin calls its good!”

Review by EARL, February 26, 2011

Sound Quality22222
Reliability22222
Customer Service44444
Features44444
Price55555
Overall33333

“BIG BUMMER,I was so happy to get a magic jack so the kids could have a phone of there own to call me at school or work. I bought one yesterday after testing my internet speed to make sure all was good for the service. Then my first call sounded like i was listening to a skipping cd then the magic jack would freeze up I am going to try it for a few more days to see if it clears up and if not I will have to return it.”

Review by Janell, March 7, 2011

Sound Quality44444
Reliability55555
Customer Service55555
Features55555
Price55555
Overall55555

“I love the Magic Jack. I have had it over a year now. I was at first contemplating wither or not it would be reliable...but i was wrong! I am so happy we got the MJ....although its not perfect sometimes i pick up my phone and i dont have a dial tone, so ill have to unplug my magic jack and plug it back in [which doesn't take long].......deff worth it for only 24 bucks a year, you really can't beat that. I already know 2 other people who have the magic jack and LOVE IT!”

Review by Martin Strmiska, March 19, 2011

Sound Quality55555
Reliability44444
Customer Service11111
Features11111
Price44444
Overall11111

“Yes the product is great no sound issues. I had it for a year and then went to renew it but could not get a hold of customer support. Definitely small companies no live agents. I am upset because I believe if I renewed my service I should be able to get a new telephone number like any other new customer without a cost. They want to charge $ 10 for a new number sure I understand this if you did it more than one time per renewal. I moved and wanted a new number when I paid my dues. This company has many different hidden small charges not to mention they publish risk free but when I wanted to cancel they told me it was not refundable.”

Review by Cecil Fountain, March 21, 2011

Sound QualityNot Rated
ReliabilityNot Rated
Customer ServiceNot Rated
FeaturesNot Rated
PriceNot Rated
OverallNot Rated

“I purchased Magic Jack for $19.95 when I installed it I was asked if I wanted to purchase service 5 years for $69.95...After paying the $69.95 for service & started to use it I found that the volume is so low that I have problem hearing....My PC is Win 7 with 6000 ram & DSL is 3G...I have it pluged into a USB port on my PC....what can I do about the sound, I have tried 5 different phones with it & get the same results....please help!!!”

Review by jamiroquai4ever, May 13, 2011

Sound Quality44444
Reliability44444
Customer Service22222
Features55555
Price55555
Overall44444

“Pretty good call quality and far superior to a cell phone and just barely below a land line. Struggled with a few software issues like the softphone not working initially but unplugged and rebooted the computer and I was good to go. Customer service tried to help but in the end a reboot sorted it out. Overall I am pretty happy.”

Review by Michael, May 28, 2011

Sound Quality44444
Reliability33333
Customer Service11111
Features11111
Price22222
Overall22222

“To whom it may concern: Reasons MagicJack didn’t work for me I use google voice and it’s answering machine. Since magic jack receives my unanswered calls and sends them to magic jacks answering machine service I have to retrieve my messages from two locations - Not appealing My computer is set to turn off at night and on in the morning. Since magic jack asks if i’m sure I want to quite the program my computer doesn’t turn off when It’s supposed to. There is no selection to turn that off. You computer has to be on to receive calls. I wish you could just plug it into your router or modem so you didn’t have to waist so much power by keeping your computer on all day.”

Review by Jean Schubert, May 31, 2011

Sound QualityNot Rated
ReliabilityNot Rated
Customer ServiceNot Rated
FeaturesNot Rated
PriceNot Rated
OverallNot Rated

“I love the magic jack and have had it about a year and a half. The trouble I am having is a 610 area code in PA. I dial the number and the line is always busy. I cannot get connected on a call. Please help me......”



Write a Review of Magic Jack


Sound Quality
Reliability
Customer Service
Features
Price
Overall